2020-2021 System Calendar

Calhoun City Schools 2020-2021 School Calendar Draft

 

The Calhoun City Schools' Board reviewed survey feedback, comments from stakeholders and calendar drafts provided by the Joint School Calendar Committee (student, parent, teacher, and community representatives from Calhoun City and Gordon County Schools).  Approximately 3,000 respondents shared their thoughts on school start and end dates, holidays and school breaks, and other priorities that they felt should be considered during the calendar planning process.  Fifty four percent of respondents felt it was somewhat or very important that the two school systems attempt to align school calendars.  Fifty three percent responded that a longer summer would be welcomed.  The top four priorities based on survey feedback included:  Two full weeks surrounding Christmas / New Year Holidays = 62%; Start school no sooner than the middle of August = 38%; Full week at Thanksgiving = 29%; School ending no later than Memorial Day = 27%.  
 

Based on the survey feedback, School Governance Team and Calendar Committee discussions, the Board feels that the following 2020-2021 student calendar draft which includes 180 instructional days, meets the expectations and supports the needs of our students, staff and community.  The attached student calendar was adopted at the Monday night Board meeting.  We appreciate the opportunity to work with our friends in Gordon County Schools to align the two calendars as closely as possible.  

 

School leadership will communicate how flex days will be utilized at each site.

 

Calhoun City Schools

First day of school

Wednesday, August 12, 2020

Labor Day

Monday, September 7, 2020

Fall Break

Monday, October 5, 2020 - Tuesday, October 6, 2020

Thanksgiving Break

Monday, November 23, 2020 - Friday, November 27, 2020

Christmas Break

Monday, December 21, 2020 - Tuesday, January 5, 2021

MLK Jr. Day

Monday, January 18, 2021

Presidents' Day

Monday, February 15, 2021

Student Holiday

*Monday, March 15, 2021 (PLD for Staff)

Spring Break

Monday, April 5, 2021 - Friday, April 9, 2021

Last Day of School

Friday, May 28, 2021

 

*Professional Learning Days will be determined by system and school leadership as part of the strategic planning process.