Bee Heard

Calhoun’s 3 C's Communication Channel: 
 

Compliments, Concerns, & Constructive Feedback 

An effective organization requires a clearly communicated expectation to honor and follow an established chain of command by all the organization’s members and stakeholders. This practice assists in building respect and trust for all and provides the most effective way to address any issue that may arise. In our school district of over 4,200 students, 450+ employees, and thousands of parents, it is even more critical that this practice is honored.

To assist you with any issue, please see the list below for immediate assistance. If a parent is having an issue at their child’s school, we highly recommend that the best place to start is always with their child’s teacher. Nearly always, any matter can be addressed appropriately at that level. But if not, the principal desires the opportunity to hear any matter associated with the school they are charged to lead. Please give them that opportunity. An unresolved concern beyond that level should be shared with the superintendent.

During a pandemic, it is certainly appropriate to address your concerns directly with the superintendent.  Dr. Michele Taylor can be reached at taylorm@calhounschools.org or by phone at 770-773-6575.

School Matters:
Primary School Principal:  Mana Smith smithm@calhounschools.org
Elementary School Principal:  Jaime Garrett  garrettj@calhounschools.org
Middle School Principal: Allison Eubanks Eubanksa@calhounschools.org
High School Principal: Casey Parker parkerc@calhounschools.org

Assistant Principals charged with monitoring student academic progress / scheduling etc.
Calhoun Primary: Julie Thomas thomasj@calhounschools.org
Calhoun Elementary: Hope Stephenson stephensonh@calhounschools.org
Calhoun Middle: Amanda Swift swifta@calhounschools.org
Calhoun High: Tiffany Watson watsont@calhounschools.org

If you have a concern regarding a discipline matter you should direct your correspondence to the Assistant Principals charged with monitoring school discipline / bus issues:
Calhoun Primary: Shelly West wests@calhounschools.org
Calhoun Elementary:  Mandy Robertson robertsonm@calhounschools.org
Calhoun Middle: Misty Lewis lewism@calhounschools.org
Calhoun High: Dr. Brock Holley holleyb@calhounschools.org

District Level Contacts:

Academics & Curriculum:
Chief Academic Officer, Kelli Kendrick: kendrickk@calhounschools.org

Assessment & Accountability/Innovation:
Assistant Superintendent, Dr. Peter Coombe: coombep@calhounschools.org

Budget & Finance:
Chief Financial Officer, Dee Wrisley: wrisleyd@calhounschools.org

College & Career Programs:
Director of College & Career Programs, Dr. Brandi Hayes: hayesb@calhounschools.org

Community Education:
Chief Human Resource Officer, Dr. Michelle Palmer: palmerm@calhounschools.org

Facilities & Operations:
Assistant Superintendent, Dr. Peter Coombe: coombep@calhounschools.org

Human Resources:
Chief Human Resource Officer, Dr. Michelle Palmer: palmerm@calhounschools.org

Online Learning:
Director of Online Learning: harwellm@calhounschools.org 

School Nutrition:
School Nutrition Director, Kim Kiker: kikerk@calhounschools.org

School Transportation:
Transportation Supervisor, Geary Cooper: cooperg@calhounschools.org

Special Education:
Exceptional Student Services Director, Hayley Gilreath: gilreathh@calhounschools.org

System Communications:
Communications Director, Jennie Coker: cokerj@calhounschools.org

Athletic / Extracurricular concerns should be addressed directly with the coaches and / or sponsors.  If additional attention is warranted, please then address concerns with the System Athletic Director, Dr. Brock Holley at holleyb@calhounschools.org

Matters that remain unresolved and have exhausted this requested chain of command may be brought to the attention of the Office of the Superintendent, Dr. Michele Taylor taylorm@calhounschools.org

Please be mindful that our Board Members are governed by State Law and SACS (Cognia) accreditation guidelines which focus their responsibilities in the area of policy, and generally are precluded from being involved in operational and student management issues.

Our goal as a school system is to always serve our students, parents and community in the most effective way possible. Your help in following this protocol is very important to our success.   Thank you!