Driver's Ed/Defensive Driving
Driver's Education is intended to supplement the knowledge obtained from government-printed driving handbooks or manuals and prepares students for tests to obtain a driver's license or learner's permit. In-car instruction places a student in a vehicle with an instructor. Joshua’s Law that as of January 1, 2007, requires all 16 year olds to complete a certified driver education course before they can obtain their license or wait until the age of 17 to receive your license.
Next Traditional Class: June 2019 *Must attend all classes for course credit
Register Now Online: My Payments Plus
Driver Training School Program Certification No: DT357 *Next Traditional Course will be offered January 2019
Calhoun Community Education is a proud authorized provider for the Georgia Driver's Education Grant Scholarship program sponsored by the Georgia Driver's Education Commission. All high school students in Georgia will be able to apply directly for driver's education opportunities due to a new grant scholarship program created by Georgia Driver's Education Commission. Georgia residents between ages 15-17 years old actively enrolled in school possessing a valid driving permit are eligible for the student driver's scholarship program Students who enroll in the program will have at least 30 hours of classroom training and six hours of training behind the wheel.
To apply for the Georgia Driver's Education Grant Scholarship, click Application and click the link "Student Login." Enter the username "student" and password "student" to login and begin. Once approved, email redemption code and a copy of the student's driver's license to Autumn Lester at email@example.com.
Defensive Driving is driving to save lives, time, and money in spite of the conditions around you and the actions of others. Defensive Driving protects us from what is happening around us. Developing defensive driving habits means:
- Making safe and legal driving decisions
- Creating a safe, stree-free personal driving space in and around your vehicle
- Driving to your destination safely - without a ticket or a crash, and without affecting other drivers' safety
- Practicing common sense, courtesy, and cooperations
- Recognizing the risks of hazardous driving behaviors and conditions.
Next Class: March 5 & 6
Location: Calhoun High School Room AL22
Classes will be held at the Calhoun High School in Room CU-02. Please park in front of the school and enter the building through the main entrance off River Street. You MUST arrive at least 5 minutes early and attend both nights. Doors will lock at 6:00 p.m. and no late entries will be allowed. *No Refunds. You will need to bring your license, paper, and pen to class.
Pre-paid Fee: $65 (Cash, Check, Credit Card or Money Order - payable to CCE)
Times: 6:00-9:00 p.m.
Location: Calhoun High School (Room AL-22)
Instructor: Dawn Pruett
Schedule of Classes
September 11 & 12
October 16 & 17
December 4 & 5
February 5 & 6
March 5 & 6
May 7 & 8
Register Now Online at My Payments Plus or the Central Office at 380 Barrett Road. Defensive Driving
This course is an approved National Safety Council six-hour Driver Improvement Clinic for insurance premium reduction or at the direction of the court for minor traffic offenses. This course is NOT certified by DDS for license requirements. Note: It is the participant's responsibility to verify course type needed.