Special Education

Welcome to the home of the Calhoun High Schools' Special Education Department.  It is with great joy that we serve the diverse needs of the students within our school system.  We hope that you will find the information contained here both helpful and informative.  Please do not hesitate to contact us with any questions or concerns. 

Services 

The purpose of Special Education is to ensure that all students with disabilities have access to a Free and Appropriate Public Education (FAPE). This includes specially designed instruction to meet a student’s individual needs in an effort to prepare the student for employment and independent living. Special services are provided at no cost to parents and may include instruction in the classroom, in the home, in hospitals, institutions and other settings, physical education, travel training and/or vocational education.

   Calhoun City Schools Exceptional Students Webpage

                    CHS ESS Teachers and Support Staff

Name Email
Ben Riley (Lead) rileyb@calhounschools.org
Kelly Bumgardner bumgardnerk@calhounschools.org
Suzanne Dobson dobsons@calhounschools.org
Barry Hall hallb@calhounschools.org
Carol Herndon herndonc@calhounschools.org
Kent Howard howardk@calhounschools.org
Franco Perkins perkins@calhounschools.org
Bethany Stiefel stiefelb@calhounschools.org
Taylor Sumrall sumrallt@calhounschools.org
Angie Brown browna@calhounschools.org
Keisha Carney carneyk@calhounschools.org
Elliot Clavino clavinoe@calhounschools.org
Chandler Curtis curtisc@calhounschools.org
Taylor Greene greenet@calhounchools.org
Thomas Lester lesterthomas@calhounschools.org
Sommer Sergent sergents@calhounschools.org
LeGania Sutherland sutherlandl@calhounschools.org
Charles Todd toddc@calhounschools.org
Donna Woody woodyd@calhounchools.org