National Beta Club

The National Beta Club began as the dream of our founder, Dr. John W. Harris, a professor at Wofford College in Spartanburg, SC. Since the first Beta Club was formed in Landrum, SC in 1934, the National Beta Club has become the nation's largest independent, non-profit, educational youth organization. We are committed to recognizing and promoting high academic achievement, rewarding and nurturing worthy character, fostering leadership skills and encouraging service to others. Visit the official site:

Membership is by invitation only. 

Requirements to maintain membership:

  • A cumulative, unrounded, academic average of 95 or higher
  • No fees owed to the institution
  • An attendance rate of 95% or higher for the current semester (no more than five full day absences)
  • No in-school or out-of-school suspensions
  • No academic dishonesty referrals 
  • Clearance by the club's co-sponsors and the building administrators 
  • Returning members must continue to meet the above criteria and must maintain an academic average of 93 or higher. 
  • New members must earn 6 service points for the current school year; returning members must earn 12.
  • Members must pay annual club dues in order to remain in good standing.
  • Members must attend a minimum of 50% of the monthly meetings
  • Officer Job Descriptions
  • Sign up for Remind for reminders about BETA by texting @f5f to 81010


  • President:  Mayce Holland

  • Vice President of Administration:  Caroline Alexander

  • Vice President of Community Service:  Ally Tallent

  • Vice President of Public Relations:  Nicholas Repp

  • Secretary:  Ada Arwood

  • Treasurer:  Chloe McFarland

Staff Sponsors: Carol Gomez ( and Angie Prater (